Thinning the Seedlings

The time I dread has now come. It’s time to thin my seedlings. This is where I have usually fallen down in past attempts at growing plants. I find it very hard to take young healthy seedlings, green and seemingly innocent, and yank them up by the roots. It seems so heartless.……………..

To continue reading this essay, click HERE.

Lori Gloyd (c) 2007

  1. Lori ,
    I was in the nursery yesterday and a chap bought a punnet of parsley and one of basil.
    Prue who runs/owns the Wiltona Garden nursery said that now they have punnets where the little seedlings are now BUNCHED in 3’s…..Now this is for the reasons of those tiny seedlings are better propped up by others hence 3 together.
    They were banded so tightly ..just like a small vine …he was thrilled as he said I always loose them they fall over…..
    Just an added thought to your writings of Sept 12th

    Lois (Muse of the Sea) 15.10.07

  2. Lori,

    I love your blog, You and I seem to have much in common. 🙂

    Terry.




Leave a Reply

